The Energy of Our Clothes

Image

We are far more affected by the energy of other people than most of us realize. Every interaction with another person results in us being energized or being drained.

 

Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor is a Harvard-trained and published neuroanatomist who experienced a severe hemorrhage in the left hemisphere of her brain in 1996. On the afternoon of this rare form of stroke, she could not walk, talk, read, write, or recall any of her life. It took eight years for Dr. Jill to completely recover all of her functions and thinking ability. She is the author of the New York Times bestselling memoir My Stroke of Insight: A Brain Scientist’s Personal Journey. I say her Oprah and she had this to say…

 

“I experienced people as concentrated packages of energy… although I could not understand the words they spoke, I could read volumes from their facial expression and body language. I paid very close attention to how their energy dynamics affected me. Some people brought me energy while others took it away.”

 

What does this have to do with clothes?

 

The clothes we wear directly contribute to the energy we bring to any given situation. Not only does that energy affect others, it affects our own psyche.

 

When I turned on the television yesterday morning and watched the coverage of the tragic shootings in Aurora, CO I was horrified and grieved. I flipped to the Today Show and saw the 4 anchors dressed in black. I flipped back and forth between the Today Show and CNN just to see the coverage thoroughly. The CNN anchors weren’t dressed in black. That was okay. It didn’t make the coverage any less valuable. And yet, there was a particular energy communicated by seeing the Today Show anchors all in black. It communicated without words this energy of respect and mourning.

 

When we thoughtful about the clothes we put on, it communicates to other people that we are aware of situational appropriateness. But it also reinforces our own energy levels.

 

You will have a different type of energy just by changing your shoes, believe it or not. Jeans and a tee shirt with platform wedge sandals are going to give you a different energy than jeans and a tee shirt with running shoes.  If I need to power clean my house quickly I always put on shoes with laces. It is a ritual that brings a certain energy of powerful intention to the job. If I am going out to drinks with the girls I would never wear a frumpy shoe. It isn’t just about what they see or think. Is all about how I feel so that the energy I cultivate in myself and thus bring to others is life giving, not draining.

 

GO with love

This entry was posted in impact and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We want your thoughts too. Join the conversation,

