Do You Know Yourself?

The school year is under way and since I am sitting in on a contemporary philosophy class I will pass along a few fruits of the labor. This is a fun exercise that my Professor had us do on Wednesday. These are the questions that tend to plague us in superficial ways but we push them aside to satisfy the to-do item of the moment. Or, in my case to watch Bravo.  But if we take 10 minutes or so to look inside it can be profoundly satisfying. I’ll give you just the list of questions to ponder and then at the bottom you can see my answers in case you’re curious.

How would you define your self?

How would you describe your self?

What are the qualities that differentiate you from all other selves?

In what ways has your self changed during the course of your life?  In what ways has it remained the same?

How would you describe the relation of your self to your body?

What do you think will happen to your self after you die?  If you believe that your self will continue to exist in some form, will you be able to recognize other selves who have died?  How?

GO with love

www.glamourowl.com

Marie’s answers:

How would you define your self?

  • soul -the self-conscious, undivided, un-mingled I.
  • the me that i know to be there without division – it is one thing, indivisible, and without any other thing a part of it. it is a whole one I.

How would you describe your self?

I describe myself in terms of relationships primarily – child of Christ, wife, mother, friend. My interests, activities, job, and hobbies are secondary but not without relevance.

What are the qualities that differentiate you from all other selves?

  • genetic makeup, experiences, reaction to those experiences, my particular place and time of existence in the universe
  • the quality or quantity of my love
  • what and how I create
  • the contribution of beauty, suffering, or apathy I leave to the world.

In what ways has your self changed during the course of your life?  In what ways has it remained the same?

I know more about God and more about myself.  I have gained some wisdom, some confidence, greater authenticity, I love better, I have cultivated gratitude, I have learned more about what plagues my soul, I see possibility in the angst of life.

The essence of me is the same.  The clay that composes the pot has been poked and prodded but the clay is the same color and consistency and is just more malleable.

How would you describe the relation of your self to your body?

Important but not essential.  Intertwined.  A place where the spiritual can meet and mingle with the physical. The body is sacred because it is God’s dwelling place in me.

What do you think will happen to your self after you die?  If you believe that your self will continue to exist in some form, will you be able to recognize other selves who have died?  How?

I believe in the eternal so I will exist in community with the God of the universe and be able to recognize other selves who have died either by a spiritual “sight” (energy perhaps) or physical sight after a bodily resurrection.

This entry was posted in impact, inspiration, philosophy, spirituality, well being and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do You Know Yourself?

  1. dzpcpj@t.com says:

    Hi my name is Sandra and I just wanted to drop you a quick note here instead of calling you. I came to your Do You Know Yourself? | Glamour Owl page and noticed you could have a lot more visitors. I have found that the key to running a successful website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. There is a company that you can get targeted traffic from and they let you try their service for free for 7 days. I managed to get over 300 targeted visitors to day to my site. Check it out here: http://innovad.ws/2dttq

  2. glamourowl says:

    If only there were pictures of Neil’s recent great leap…

  3. lauditus says:

    We need some one like Neil Armestrong to discover the life after death ,but noway that’s imposible ; we have to stumbleupon that ourselves!

We want your thoughts too. Join the conversation,

