Cheers, Jeers, and Cheap Tricks!

Over the last few months I’ve tried a few new products. There’s nothing better than getting an honest review from a trusted source so I thought I’d share my cheers and jeers along with a tip or two…

A few of these products were recommended in the book How to Look Expensive: A Beauty Editor’s Secrets to Getting Gorgeous without Breaking the BankThis is a great little reference book that gives recommendations for products on the cheap as well as for what and when to splurge!

First up: I’ve had my old hairdryer for who knows how many years and it simply had to go. I asked my hairdresser for a recommendation and he loves the T3 Featherweight Hair Dryer so much that he sells it in the salon… for $180. Yikes! But I figured that the last one has lived for about a decade and I wanted to invest in something that would really help my challenging hair. It needs all the help it can get. Luckily, I found the same dryer on Amazon for $130 and LOVE it! It really dries my hair so much faster and leaves it less frizzy. I make sure to use the cool shot at the end which really seals in shine.

images-1

 

2 Cheers and 1 Jeer for some hair products I’ve experimented with recently:

Oribe Supershine Light Moisturizing Cream – so great! It is pricey at $37 a tube but I only need a wee little bit to make sleek and shiny tresses a reality. That tube is going to last me a long, long time.

images-2

 

I bought it about 4 months ago and have been so happy that I decided to try another Oribe product that I read a good review for. It is the Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray which can totally double as a dry shampoo. It came yesterday and I used it this morning and got compliments on my hair twice today. I don’t look like this girl but it is a good representation of what it does…

images

 

I hate to bash a product but buyer beware. I would want someone to tell me, after all. I bought a Moroccan Oil Hair Shampoo and not only did it not leave my hair shiny and gorgeous as promised, it smells horrific! My eyes practically sting from the chemical smell – a sad waste of $28 but this is how we learn.

images-3

 

Now I have 2 spectacular products for the face! These are both home runs as far as I’m concerned! The first is a great tinted foundation / BB cream that I bought at my dermatologist office. You can also get it on Amazon. It is one formula that works on every shade of skin and provides excellent SPF coverage along with allowing your pretty skin to look naturally beautiful.

revision_intellishade_spf45

 

Part 2 of a pretty face is an awesome applicator for that tinted moisturizer. The Beauty Blender Sponge is used by some of the top makeup artists. I decided to give it a whirl and am in love. It puts your makeup on like you’ve been airbrushed. Need I say more? So much better than my fingers, sponges, or brushes!

images-4

 

Finally, I have a great little trick for you. If you go to an art supply store you can buy this little plastic key that is used for getting oil paint out of the tubes when it is almost empty. They only cost about .50 cents. As you can tell some of the goop I put on my face is pricey. And who wants to waste even the cheap stuff? Get yourself a little key and the end of those product tubes will squeeze right out, saving you $$$.

images-5works like this…images-6Thanks so much for being here!

GO with love!

This entry was posted in beauty products, tips and tricks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We want your thoughts too. Join the conversation,

